Managing boards

Overview

A board is a space that houses tickets going through the same workflow.
For example, you might have a board for development tickets with workflow stages like To Do, Design, Development, QA, and Done, and another board for tickets representing larger-scale projects with stages like Research, Design, Development, Rollout, Impact Review, and Done.
To manage your organization's boards, click your avatar in the upper right corner and visit Settings, then visit the Admin Settings | Boards section.
The Admin Settings section is only visible to team members with the Admin role.

Step-by-step

Creating a board

To create a new board, visit Admin Settings | Boards and click the button to add a new board. You'll be prompted to provide a name. We recommend keeping it short (~30 characters or less).
Each board must have a unique name within your organization.
When you create a board, it'll be prepopulated with a default sequence of stages. To edit a board's stages, exit Settings to your new board, then while viewing the board, click the ellipsis menu and choose Edit stages.
Learn more about editing a board's stages:

Renaming a board

To rename an existing board, visit Admin Settings | Boards, hover over board, click the ellipsis menu, and choose Rename. We recommend keeping it short (~30 characters or less).
Each board must have a unique name within your organization.

Restricting user access

By default, everyone in your organization can read and write tickets on all boards. That makes it easy for teammates to collaborate without unnecessary friction.
You can restrict a user by making them a Guest. This limits their access to only some of your organization's boards. That can be useful for, say, a contractor, intern, or other temporary teammate.
To manage which boards a Guest user can access, visit Admin Settings | Boards, hover over the board's ellipsis menu, then choose Manage guests. You can add existing Guest users in your organization to the board or invite new ones by email address. They won't be able to read or write any boards except those you explicitly grant them access to.
The Admin Settings section is only visible to team members with the Admin role.
Learn more about user roles:

Restricting board access

Constructor doesn't currently support "private" boards that are accessible only to some members of your team. If this would interest you, contact us.

Archiving or unarchiving a board

To archive a board that your team no longer needs, visit Admin Settings | Boards, hover over board, click the ellipsis menu, and choose Archive. You can also unarchive previously archived boards.
Archived boards no longer appear in the navigation bar, and their tickets no longer appear in search. However, you can still view an archived board and its tickets if you visit them via a direct link.